New Information on Environmental Awareness

Walk/Bike to school day recap and the Green Impact Challenge information – it’s starting soon!

Click here to check it out!

Food, Family & Fellowship with Lewisville Learning Center

lewisville learning center llcThe faculty and staff of the Lewisville Learning Center would like to extend an invitation for you to join us next Wednesday, November 12thfor Food, Family and Fellowship.  We welcome students, parents, community members and LISD personnel to walk our building, visit with teachers and see what it is that we do to help LISD’s at-risk students achieve academic success.  In addition to dessert and coffee, we will discuss our programs and college/career readiness efforts.

We recognize that many of LISD’s success stories are rooted in the Learning Center.  While many of you may know where we are located, you may not understand exactly what it is that we do.  If you have ever wondered about Night High School, accelerated instruction or what a DAEP classroom looks like, prepare to be enlightened.  We welcome you with open arms and hope that you leave with your questions answered and a clear picture of our mission.  Thank you for partnering with us as we work to change the perception of the Learning Center.  Please feel free to contact me if you have questions or if I can be of assistance.  We are located at 1601 S. Edmonds Lane, Lewisville.

Accelerated, Night High School, DAEP & SAPP – One Team, One Dream!

Kecia D. Theodore

Principal – Lewisville Learning Center

(469) 713 – 5185

(972) 350 – 9350 fax

Presidents and Principals Luncheon

Every year, the Council hosts a luncheon to thank our presidents and principals for their support of PTA.  The relationship between a PTA president and their principal is essential to PTA’s success.  With them working as a team, so much can be accomplished.

The McKamy MS Band Honor Wind Ensemble performed for us and did an outstanding job!  Thank you to their director, Russell Cote, and McKamy MS principal, Peter Taggart, for making it happen.  Amber Fulton from Friends of Texas Public Schools was our speaker and did a wonderful job of reminding us of why we need to stand up for public education.

Thank you so much to all who were able to attend.  To those who weren’t able, we missed you and hope to see you next year.  Thank you for all that you do.

October Meeting and Vendor Fair

October’s regular meeting is this Wednesday, Oct. 8 at 9:30am.  Please join us at the Bolin Admin Center located at 1565 West Main St., Lewisville, on the corner of Main and Garden Ridge.

The Vendor Fair will be open before and after the meeting from 8:30am-9:30am and 11:00am-12:00pm. Your PTA’s program and fundraising chairs are welcome along with any other board member that might be interested.
Our presentation will be about LISD’s Choices: Safe and Drug Free Schools and the services that they provide, free of charge, to both parents and students.

We are selling Council t-shirts this year for $15.  If you have one, please wear it, if not please wear your spirit wear.  We will be selling the LISD Council t-shirts for $15.

Presidents and principals are always welcome.  We look forward to seeing you!

District Sweeps Regional Band Competition

Congratulations to THREE LISD bands for placing in the Bands of America Denton Regional competition! Hebron HS Band took first place, Marcus HS band second, and Flower Mound HS Band third. It’s an LISD sweep!

Hebron band

Hebron High School Band


Marcus Band

Marcus High School Band


fmhs band

Flower Mound High School Band

Congratulations Creekside Elementary!

way to go gifCongratulations to Creekside Elementary School PTA! In the Texas PTA Connection Day prize drawing their PTA won a Back the Future prize package valued at over $1800!  Check out their Facebook page.

Connection Day = Huge Success

942 PTAs pledge 227,746 members!


Texas PTA Winners for the Prize Drawings

“Museum in the Classroom” package from Dinosaur George valued at over $3,500:

  • Independence Elementary School PTA in Keller!

T-shirts/spirit-wear of their choosing from Gandy Ink valued at $2,500

  • Haggard Middle School PTA in Plano!

back the future prize package valued at over $1,800

  • Creekside Elementary School PTA in Lewisville
  • Covington Middle School PTA in Austin
  • Stephen F. Austin High School PTA in Austin

Fall Leadership Dinner & Learn Series

Back The Future Fall Leadership Dinner & Learn Series

Join LISD Council of PTAs for our Fall Leadership Series.  Learn more about the Basics of the following Executive Board Positions:  President, Secretary, and Treasurer.

Seating is limited and a light dinner will be served.

Do you have new Board Members?  All Board Members who have not taken FLO or LOT in the past are required to take FLO (Foundations Leadership Orientation – formerly LOT).  FLO is available online at TXPTAs site.  Cost for this self paced class is $10.  We are looking at offering an onsite FLO class.  As soon as the October date is confirmed – we will publish the sign up!

Click here to take your FLO Class

We appreciate your service!  Feel free to let us know if you need help throughout the year!  We highly encourage a board orientation (regardless if you’ve had one in the past).  New and exciting things are happening with TXPTA and Council!  We want to ensure that your local PTA have all the tools needed to service the children, parents, and community we all serve.



Texas PTA Website

Have you checked out the Texas PTA website lately? No, you should – it’s awesome!

TXPTA Website 2014

Back the Future Rally, Wednesday September 10

LISD Council of PTAs cordially invites you

Back The Future PTA Rally

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Lewisville High School’s Leo C. Stuver auditorium.

The 2014-2015 School year is shaping up to be a big year for Texas PTA.  With our combined passion for education, our LISD Community will be making a tremendous impact during this year’s Legislative Session!

Join as as we welcome Dr. Stephen Waddell, LISD Superintendent, who will share the State of the District.  You will also have an opportunity to hear and speak to our local State Representatives.

As parents and community leaders, we play an important part in making Texas and our District a better place for children.  Please forward this to your entire board and PTA members (and non Members!).  We want to give them an opportunity to hear the State of our District as well as provide them the chance to speak to our elected officials.

We will have a Breakfast Networking Session from 8:30 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. and the Council meeting will begin promptly at 9:30.   Chairs from different Committees will be on hand to answer questions regarding Programs for the 2014-2015 school year.

Thank you for your continued leadership and service!  The students of LISD appreciate all that you do!
Click here to respond to the Evite and let us know by September 8th.  We hope to see you there!

Best Regards,
LISD Council of PTAs Board